Wooden Stake interview


WOODEN STAKE interview for Dark Recollections 2011

1. Dark Recollections: for those not familiar with Wooden Stake, introduce the band.
(who does what, plays what instruments)

<Vanessa: In WOODEN STAKE we have Wayne Sarantopoulos who mans the drums, all guitars, and writes the songs; and then myself
Vanessa Nocera and I play bass, do the vocal arrangements; and I perform all singing, demonic growling, and banshee shrieks.
All of the vocals are mine.

2. Dark Recollections: not much is known about Wooden Stake give us a brief band bio.

Vanessa: When my husband Billy and I were writing material for our band SCAREMAKER, we knew we wanted to ask Wayne to be our
drummer for that project. From there, Wayne and I discussed the possibilities of working together on other projects. I had
interest in doing a doom band and decided to start developing that idea furhter. I wanted to expand my repertoire so to speak
and before I knew it he had already written a song and sent it to me. I wrote the bass part, wrote the lyrics, and did the
vocals. After that first track (“Forbidden Oath”) we went from there, soon to have the material for the MCD.

3. Dark Recollections: does the name Wooden Stake have a special meaning to you, why was the name chosen?

Vanessa: Yes, the name is an homage to Hammer movies that I always felt was very fitting for a doom band. With a name like
WOODEN STAKE, you can really hone in on gothic subject matter and create a great atmosphere with the music. And actually,
the name was suggested/created by Stevo of Impetigo and Tombstones, which we thank him very much.

4. Dark Recollections: what have you released so far, what has been the response to each release like?

Vanessa: Our first release was the MCD “Vampire Plague Exorcism” which was a limited pressing of 100, and 100 more have
already been re-pressed due to an overwhelming demand for it. We also have a 7″ out “Invoke the Ageless Witch” from Sarlacc
Productions with 2 exclusive songs on it; limited to 300 copies. The response has been very great, and it continues to grow.

5. Dark Recollections: talk about your debut Mcd “Vampire Plague Exorcism”

Vanessa: I am very proud of this release. It was very exciting to be doing something new with music and exercise my talents
outside of just death growling. The material was recorded it rather quickly. The lyrics I wrote for this were inspired by
ghost stories I heard growing up, and I also wanted to incorporate a Satanic theme as well. I think it’s the perfect first
release as it shows how much we have already progressed as a band.

6. Dark Recollections: what is the song “13 condemned” about, what inspired its lyrics?

Vanessa: That song is about the sub-plot to a 1970 made for TV movie called “Crowhaven Farm”. Basically in the movie, a
couple buys a home to find that it’s haunted by the ancient coven of witches that once inhabited it. When I was younger, I
used to think that this particular part of the story should have been the main plot of the movie. It stuck with me and I
thought that it was perfect for a song.

7. Dark Recollections: talk about your upcoming releases(give us names, release dates, etc)

Vanessa: The next two releases we have coming in February are the full-length WOODEN STAKE / BLIZARO split CD with two new
songs, and it’s coming out on Razorback Recordings. The second release is a 7″ split with DRUID LORD featuring our song “In
the Godless Moonlight” out from Altsphere Productions. After that, we have our debut full-length album “Dungeon Prayers &
Tombyard Serenades” which will be out from Razorback as well, and a 7″ EP “Black Caped Carnivore” out on an upcoming German
label Sorcerer’s Pledge Records.

8. Dark Recollections: what has the response to your debut Mcd like?

Vanessa: There was a great, unexpected resurgence over the MCD that we didn’t really expect. We did the MCD and had a lot of
fun and we hoped that it would do good, but we weren’t expecting that it would gain this much attention so quickly.

9. Dark Recollections: have you had any offers outside of U.S.A to release MCd?

Vanessa: No labels outside of the US have offered to do any MCD’s. We have the 7″ out on Sarlacc from Ireland, and the split
7″ with Druid Lord on the French label Altsphere.

10. Dark Recollections: not many bands out there play your style of music, what bands have influenced your music?

Vanessa: I can’t really speak for Wayne and his approach to the music, but I know for myself my bass playing is influenced
immensely by Geezer Butler, Cliff Burton, Geddy Lee, and Phil Lynott. My vocals are a mix of Peter Murphey, and Carcass type
vocals. Crazy I know, but I have a vast taste in music and I let anything inspire me really. I listen to Pentagram, Black
Sabbath, and Cathedral, but I try to find other ways of performing the songs besides just stealing inspiration from the
obvious source.

11. Dark Recollections: talk about other projects you are involved in?

Vanessa: Well, I have my main band SCAREMAKER which I write all the music for and perform guitar, bass, and lead vocals. I’m
currently working on material for the second full-length album, and we were just offered to be a part of a 4-way split with
some other bands to be announced. Last year we released a limited 3-song self-released demo cassette tape “Burning
Inquisition”, our full-length debut album “What Evil Have They Summoned…”, and a fan club package including an exclusive EP
“Grim Reaping”.
I’ve also just joined the Swedish Death / Doom band, SKELETAL SPECTRE, and we’ve just finished recording the second album
“Occult Spawned Premonitions”. It’s heavier than their debut, and I am really proud to now be a part of it.
And finally, I play bass for LOATHSOME, another band with Wayne. We released a MCD last year “Lepers of the Loathsome” and
are soon to work on the debut full-length.

12. Dark Recollections: is Wooden Stake a studio only projekt, would you ever get to play live?

Vanessa: As of right now, yes we are a studio band. I would like to play live, but we’ll just have to wait and see about
that.

13. Dark Recollections: any merchandise available from you? (list items and prices)

Vanessa: We still have copies of the MCD; $8 US / $10 WORLD. Soon the split CD with BLIZARO will be out which will be
$10 US / $12 WORLD, and of course the debut full-length album “Dungeon Prayers & Tombyard Serenades” $10 US / $12 WORLD.
All of this will be available from http://www.razorbackrecords.com

14. any last words, comments? thanks for the interview

Vanessa: Add us on Myspace and Facebook to keep up with the latest. I also have a Livejournal that I update with news and
updates which you can check out here: http://vanocera-83.livejournal.com

Thanks for the interview and support!

Leave a Reply

