TYRANEX(swe) Interview

TYRANEX interview for Dark Recollections 2011

1. Dark Recollections: for those not familiar with the thrashing machine known as Tyranex,
introduce the band.(who does what, plays what instruments, etc?)
-We have Stefan Thylander on bass and Johannes Lindström on drums. I play guitar and sing. On our upcoming debutalbum you will also hear Martin Zettmar playing guitar. He’s been a member of the
band but decided to leave us for his own project.Now we will continue with just the three of us and it can’t be more oldschool thrash metal than that!

2. Dark Recollections: give us a brief band bio.
-I formed the band together with Paloma Estrada in december 2005. She was the singer then and I played guitar only. Stefan joined us a few months later in 2006. We immidiatly started to write our
own songs but I think it wasn’t until Paloma left and we decided to have me on vocals that we developed our style more into thrash metal than as we played back then – heavy metal. We’ve had a
great time during these years, played with several great musicians and released the demos “Blade of the Sacrificer” – 2008 and “The Evil has Arrived” – 2009 wich got great respons from people,
more than we could ever expect.
We found our drummer Johannes just a year ago and signed a record contract with Infernö Records a few weeks later. The last autumn we spend in the studio “Garaget” recording our songs and we hope for a
release quite soon!

3. Dark Recollections: how did the different band members meet, how hard was it
to find proper band members?
-It’s hard to find the right members, it’s hard to find people that has the same goals and interests in the band. Most of the memebrs we had in Tyranex was found through adds on internet.
Everyone we had has put their mark on this band and has put us forward in different kinds of way but unlyckily it has not worked all the way for everyone. Some grows up, prioritates other things or
other bandprojects, or some just feels that it’s not right anymore and wants to do something else.

4. Dark Recollections: what have you released so far, what has the response been like?
-See question #2

5. Dark Recollections: talk about your last demo “the evil has arrived”
-It was the second demo we did that we officially released. It comes with coverartwork and labelprint. We recorded it in our rehearsalstudio in 2008 and released it 2009. On that one our former drummer
Tuukka Franck is playing drums, inspired of black and death metal you can hear blastbeats in parts of the songs.
The memories about recording that one was that it took so much time and energy since we did everything ourselves except for the mixing which we did together with our friend Stefan Ekström.
We also re-recorded the song “Blade of the Sacrificer” but I think the version that’s on the earlier demo is better. The song that has got most positive response is the third track – “Spit Back” which came as a
surpirse to me, I wasn’t sure to put it on the demo because I didn’t like it that much.

6. Dark Recollections: what is the song “spit back”, what inspired its lyrics?
-The lyrics is about people that stand outside the society, or more like: people who are abnormal to the societies boundaries, people that will never fit and will never be one like “the others”.
They have probably taken so much pain and shit from assholes around them and some will continue to do that the rest of their lives. This song is an encourage to everyone that felt mistreated, either if you
look different, behave different or just doesn’t wear the “right” clothes. The song is about to not just let it go, not accept it, instead – stand up for your rights and spit back in their faces.

7. Dark Recollections: talk about your upcoming Cd release.(name ,who will release,
date of release)
-I wont tell you the name yet but it will contain 9 new tracks and cool coverartwork by Sebastian Ramstedt and of course the cover will include our very own Sacrificer.It wil be released at Inferno records
in CD format. Right now we’re mastering the music and working on layout. But I believe it will go to press very soon and hopefully you’ll have it in your hands not too long from now.

8. Dark Recollections: what are some of the bands you listen to, that perhaps helped
influence your sound?
-The number one influence is and always will be – Iron Maiden. We take alot od inspiration from the NWOBHM bands. But of course we also listen to the german thrash bands Kreator, destruction, Sodom.

9. Dark Recollections: what can a fan expect at a Tyranex show, how does the crowd
react to your music?
-We’ve been lucky having great audience when we play live. People raise their fists in the air and bang their heads and sings along. We’re fighting for getting people standing in the back to
join the frontrow instead. We are working our asses of on stage and we expect the crowd to do that to! Going on a Tyranex you’ll experience thrash metal with fury and energy, we don’t just stand still and
look bored, when we’re on stage we’re really showing that we love it!

10.Dark Recollections: what instruments of torture are used to achieve your sound?
-I don’t belive it’s the instruments that make the sound, it’s how you play it!

11. Dark Recollections: have you had any offers to release your demos on Cd or Lp?
-Yeah but we said no. We released it on cd by ourselves.

12. Dark Recollections: any merchandise available from the band?(list items and prices)
-We will print shirts soon. Prices to be announced at our websites

13. Dark Recollections: any last words, comments? thanks for the interview

Get prepared for the sacrifice!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s